AFC Half Marathon Training Update (Week 9 of 10)

Next Sunday is America’s Finest City Half Marathon.  Although I feel I’m in relatively good condition to run a decent race next week, my head is not in the game.  Earlier this week got some really bad news about a sibling who has a deteriorating health condition and another sibling who was seriously injured and almost killed by a drunk driver.  He was in critical condition and airlifted to the hospital.  To top it off, the sibling hit by a drunk driver has a wife who is over 8 months pregnant.  I honestly thought I was experiencing a nightmare.  Needless to say, it was a life changing week for my parents and me.

Fortunately, our faith in God and prayers from friends and family has provided fast healing and hope.  The sibling hit by the drunk driver had very successful surgeries and is back at home with his pregnant wife, although he has a long recovery ahead of him.  The doctors said they have never seen anyone heal so quickly and be released from the hospital within a few days after experiencing such traumatic injuries.  I’m certain that God was watching over him, it could have been much worth.  We are all continuing to pray for my other sibling.

Although I could care less about my running during these times, the exercise has helped keep me sane.  But events like this sure put things in perspective and I have a lot of thinking to do.  Life really is short and we need to treasure every moment we have with loved ones.

Report Card

afc-grade-wk9Running:  (B) Ran 24 miles this week.  Ran 4 x 1 mile intervals on Tuesday, 6-mile tempo on Friday and 8 mile run on Sunday.  Felt pretty strong each run.

Sleep:  (C) 6 – 8 hours of sleep most nights.  Quality of the sleep was very erratic, especially during the early part of the week.

Diet/Hydration:  (C) Wasn’t very disciplined with my diet when away from home visiting my sibling, ate whatever was available.

Weight/Body Fat:  (A) My weight decreased 1.0 lbs, from 146.7 lbs to 145.7 lbs.  My body fat decreased 0.1% from 9.1% to 9.0%.  Feel I’m at a good weight going into the race.

Cross-Training/Stretching:  (C) Missed a lot of cross-training sessions this week.  1.5 hours on the bike trainer; one 15-minute core sessions; two 20 minute strength training sessions; and three 20-minute yoga sessions.

Stress Management:  (D) Tough week mentally and emotionally.

Body Condition/Injuries:  (A) Other than mild plantar fasciitis in the left and right heal, feeling really good.  The left knee MCL injury is not 100%, but is hardly noticable.

Overall:  (B)

Training Recap

Running:  24 miles

Total Exercise Time:  6 hours, 26 minutes

Monday – 15 minutes core, 45 minutes bike trainer

Tuesday – Interval Run, 4 x 1 mile w/2 minute jog between intervals (7:01, 6:57, 6:44, 6:27)

Wednesday – Off

Thursday – 20 minutes strength

Friday – Hilly Tempo Run

Saturday – Bike Trainer 45 minutes, 20 minutes strength

Sunday – Long Run, 8 miles (average pace 7:25/mile), 20 minutes yoga

afc-training-plan-wk9

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Running, San Diego and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

