AFC Half Marathon Training Update (Week 10 of 10)

America’s Finest City Half Marathon is tomorrow.  Not sure how I will do, but feel pretty good going into the race.  My left knee injury has pretty much healed and nothing else aches.  Finished with a good taper week and I’m well rested.  The weather for the race looks good, mid-60s with mild humidity – although may be a bit foggy at the start.

As far as my race strategy, I plan to start in the 7:00 to 7:30 per mile range, and if I’m feeling good, will move down to a sub-7 minute mile pace.  The course appears to be fast, with the first two miles on mild rolling hills, miles 2 – 5 downhill, miles 5 – 11.5 flat, miles 11.5 – 12.5 on a steep uphill, then flat to the finish.  Not too concerned with the hill toward the end since I’ve incorporated lots of hills into my training runs.  My only real concern is a congested start, there are over 8,000 runners and if I’m not able to get somewhat toward the front, I could easily lose a couple minutes.

Overall, I’m satisfied with this training cycle.  Although I’m not where I hoped to be fitness-wise, considering the knee injury and life stresses over the past few weeks, I still find myself at a good place going into the race.  Should be a good time tomorrow regardless of my results.

Report Card

afc-grade-wk10Running:  (A) Taper week, so only ran 9 miles this week, with the half marathon tomorrow.  Ran 6 x 400 intervals on Tuesday and an easy 3-mile run on Thursday.

Sleep:  (A) 8 – 9 hours of sleep most nights.  Quality of the sleep was good.

Diet/Hydration:  (A) Ate balanced meals full of fruits and vegetables.  Drank plenty of fluids.

Weight/Body Fat:  (A) My weight decreased 0.5 lbs, from 145.7 lbs to 145.2 lbs.  My body fat decreased 0.2% from 9.0% to 8.8%.  My target weight going into this race was 145 lbs and I’m pretty much on target.

Cross-Training/Stretching:  (A) 1.0 hours on the bike trainer and six 20-minute yoga sessions.

Stress Management:  (B) Relative to last week, this was a much less stress filled week.

Body Condition/Injuries:  (A) Nothing significant, feeling pretty good.

Overall:  (A) Good taper week going into the half marathon.

Training Recap

Running:  9 miles

Total Exercise Time:  4 hours, 12 minutes

Monday – 20 minutes bike trainer, 20 minutes yoga

Tuesday – Interval Run, 6 x 400s w/2 minute jog between intervals (1:33, 1:33, 1:27, 1:30, 1:22, 1:21)

Wednesday – 20 minutes bike trainer, 20 minutes yoga

Thursday – Easy 3 Mile Run (average pace 8:22/mile)

Friday – 20 minutes bike trainer, 20 minutes yoga

Saturday – 20 minutes yoga

afc-training-plan-wk10

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Running, San Diego and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to AFC Half Marathon Training Update (Week 10 of 10)

  1. Fantastic blog post — very detailed and informative. We just relocated to SD and will running the AFC half tomorrow, too. Best of luck to you!

  2. musingrunner says:

    Good luck and have fun!

Leave a Reply

