2014 Carlsbad Marathon Training Plan

logoThe 2014 Carlsbad Marathon will be on January 19, 2014.  This will be the third time I’ve run this race.  The course is challenging, but I like it since it is well organized and the field size is relatively small – limited to 2,000 runners.  Below is my 16-week training plan.  The plan entails running 3 days a week (intervals on Tuesday, tempo on Thursday, and long run on Sunday) and cross-training on the other 4 days of the week.  Supplemental training includes core exercises with a kettlebell, moderate strength training (pull-ups, push-ups, and free weights), and a bit of yoga to keep somewhat limber.

About half-way through the training cycle, I plan to run the Silver Strand Half Marathon.  I scheduled this half marathon to maintain some motivation during the long training cycle and provide a mid-point assessment of my fitness.

I plan to strictly adhere to the mileage and not push the pace too hard on my running workouts.  In previous training cycles, I tended to put in more miles than I needed and would constantly try to increase my pacing each week.  Although I had some great training runs, this was probably detrimental when it came to race day because I tended to be over train and be flat on race day.  I purposely did not put in any pace times for my running workouts since I plan to go by feel – although I have a general idea as to where I would like my pace to be for each training run.

I still have two weeks before I start training, but feel pretty healthy and rested going into this next training cycle.  If I can remain injury free, I think I have a very good chance of bettering my time of 3:24 from last year.  Once I start training in October, I’ll post a training update each week.

2014 Carlsbad Marathon Training Plan

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Marathons, Running, San Diego, Training and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2014 Carlsbad Marathon Training Plan

  1. Love how informative your posts are! Have you ever ran the Silver Strand 1/2? We were looking at that, too…

    • Thanks!

      This will be the first time I’ve run the Silver Strand. I’ve read mixed review on it, but figured I’d give it a try since it was close to my house, should be nice and chilly and looks to be very flat and straight.

      Well, hope to see you there!

Leave a Reply

