2014 Carlsbad Marathon Training Update (Week 1 of 16)

After a hectic September, it is nice to get back to a training routine.  This was the first week of a 16 week training cycle for a marathon in mid-January.  I ran the same marathon last year and I’m in much better condition as I start my training compared to last year.

I plan to make some minor adjustments to my training plan.  Instead of 3 core/strength training sessions, I am going to reduce it to 2 sessions each week.  Also, I’m going to increase the the amount of yoga from 5 sessions (~ 15 to 20 minutes each session) to 9 sessions each week.  As I get older, I’m finding the yoga stretching exercises to be beneficial in staying limber and avoiding injury.

Report Card

Grade-Wk1-CarlsbadRunning:  (A-) 29 miles of running this week.  Ran 3 x 1 mile intervals on Wednesday, short tempo on Friday and a 13 mile long run on Sunday.  All three runs were quality runs, although would have like to have run my intervals a little faster.  The speed will come back eventually.

Sleep:  (B) 6 – 8 hours of sleep most nights with a few short afternoon naps.

Diet/Hydration:  (B-)  Maintained good hydration.  Ate relatively healthy, mostly whole foods, but indulged a few times more than normal.

Weight/Body Fat:  (B) 147.3 lbs and 9.2% body fat.  Plan to lose a few pounds, would like to get under 145 lbs by the marathon.

Cross-Training/Stretching:  (A) Incorporated a good amount of quality cross-training.  2.25 hours on the bike trainer; two 30-minute core/strength sessions; and over 2 hours of yoga spread throughout the week.

Stress Management:  (B) Limited stress this week.

Body Condition/Injuries:  (B+) Mild plantar fasciitis in the left and right heal that seems to be getting better.  Otherwise, nothing of significance.

Overall:  (B) Good start to the training cycle.  Just need to try and be a little more disciplined with my diet and rest.

Training Recap

Running:  29 miles

Core/Strength:  1 hour

Bike Trainer:  2 hours and 15 minutes

Yoga:  2 hours and 10 minutes

Total Exercise Time:  9 hours, 1 minute

Monday – 15 minutes yoga, 45 minutes bike trainer

Tuesday – 30 minutes core/strength

Wednesday – Interval Run, 1 x 1 mile w/1 minute jog between intervals (6:29, 6:20, and 6:09), 20 minutes yoga  (Note:  good interval run, but need to improve the speed)

Thursday – 15 minutes yoga, 45 minutes bike trainer, 20 minutes yoga

Friday – Tempo Run 3 miles EZ, 2 miles @ tempo pace (6:25, 6:19), 3 miles EZ, 20 minutes yoga

Saturday – 30 minutes core/strength, 45 minutes bike trainer, 20 minutes yoga

Sunday – Long Run, 13 miles (average pace 7:34/mile), 20 minutes yoga

Training Plan

2014 Carlsbad Marathon Training Plan

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Running, San Diego, Training, Yoga and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

