2014 Carlsbad Marathon Training Update (Week 6 of 16)

Continuing to progress forward, feeling a little stronger each week.  This upcoming week will be an easy week since I have a half marathon next Sunday.

Report Card

carlsbad-grade-wk6Running:  (A-) 34 miles of running this week.  Ran intervals on Tuesday, tempo on Thursday and long run on Sunday.  Interval speed still lagging, but tempo and long run were solid.

Sleep:  (A) Solid 8+ hours of sleep every night with a few short afternoon naps.  Felt great and rested everyday this week.

Diet/Hydration:  (B+) Ate a little unhealthy this weekend, but relatively well most of the week.  Didn’t keep hydrated well on a few days.

Weight/Body Fat:  (A) Lost 0.2 lbs this week.  Weight decreased from 145.9 lbs to 145.7 lbs and body fat remained unchanged at 8.9%.

Cross-Training/Stretching:  (A) Good amount of cross-training – bike trainer, core/strength workouts, and yoga.

Stress Management:  (B+) Not too stressful this week, but busy.

Body Condition/Injuries:  (A-) Nothing significant to report on the injury front, just a few minor nagging pains.

Overall:  (A-) Good week of training.  The 8+ hours of sleep every night makes a world of difference.

Training Recap

Running:  34 miles

Core/Strength:  1 hour

Bike Trainer:  3 hours

Yoga:  2 hours, 55 minutes

Total Exercise Time:  11 hours, 19 minutes

Monday – 15 minutes yoga, 45 minutes bike trainer, 20 minutes yoga

TuesdayInterval Run, 2 x 1,200m (5:07 and 4:56), 4 x 800s (3:07, 3:09, 3:12, 2:50) w/2 minute rest jog between intervals, 15 minutes core, 15 minutes yoga

Wednesday – 15 minutes yoga, 45 minutes bike trainer, 15 minutes strength, 15 minutes yoga

ThursdayTempo Run 2 miles EZ, 5 miles @ tempo pace (6:45, 6:44, 6:42, 6:32 and 6:29), 1 mile EZ, 20 minutes yoga

Friday – 15 minutes yoga, 45 minutes bike trainer, 20 minutes yoga

Saturday15 minutes core, 15 minutes strength, 45 minutes bike trainer, 20 minutes yoga

Sunday – Long Run, 18 miles (average pace 7:45/mile), 20 minutes yoga

Training Plan

2014-carlsbad-wk6

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Running, San Diego, Training, Yoga and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2014 Carlsbad Marathon Training Update (Week 6 of 16)

  1. runmyssierun says:

    Just out of curiosity, what type of yoga do you do? Are there certain poses that help with your running that you have discovered? Your training plan seems pretty spot on and I’m still having problems knocking my out and being consistent about it but also leaving room to see what other combinations work for me.

    • I don’t do anything advanced, just very basic poses. I’m doing it primarily to avoid injury and try to stay a little more limber since I’m not very flexible at all. Been incorporating yoga on and off for a few years now and find I’m less susceptible to injury if I make a habit of it. I found a few 15 to 20 minute yoga routine for runners online and try and do one or two of them daily (normally in the morning and/or evening).

      Here’s one I use: http://blip.tv/yogamazing/episode-211-yoga-for-runners-update-3212518

      Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

