Silver Strand Half Marathon Pacing Strategy

Silver Strand Half Marathon Tech Shirt

Tomorrow is the Silver Strand Half Marathon.  The course is very flat and straight, which means it should be a relatively fast course.  The weather is expected to be in the mid-50s, partly cloudy, with a little wind (~3 mph) – can’t ask for much better than that.

My training over the past few weeks has been good and I have no injuries, aches or pains to speak of.  Although I don’t think I’m at my peak condition, I’m looking forward to a good effort tomorrow.  My last half marathon was back in August where I ran a 1:29:06 on a somewhat difficult course. Given that tomorrow’s course is easier with cooler weather, along with my fitness-level being better, I’m hoping to better that time.

So as far as a pacing strategy, I plan to go out around 6:30 to 6:45 per mile for the first few miles.  If I’m feeling okay, I’ll probably settle into a 6:20 to 6:40 per mile pace for the middle miles.  Then if things are continuing to go well, I’ll try and finish the last few miles at a sub 6:30 pace.  But these are just general guidelines, I’ll make adjustments based upon feel as the race progresses, things never go exactly as planned.

I’m going into this race with a short taper.  I ran my last hard run on Tuesday with an easy 5 mile run on Thursday.  In addition to not running the past two days, I’ve also cut out most of my cross training, other than some yoga.  Otherwise, I’ve been trying to get at least 8 – 9 hours a sleep each night, staying hydrated and eating clean.

I have to catch the shuttle at 5:45 am tomorrow morning to the start line, so will need to get to bed around 8:00 pm tonight.  Most likely I’ll have a moderate pasta meal for lunch and a light dinner.  I find that eating too much the day before a race hasn’t worked out well for me in the past.

I’ll post my race report by Monday.

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Race Reports, Running, San Diego, Yoga and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Silver Strand Half Marathon Pacing Strategy

  1. Pingback: Race Report: 2014 Silver Strand Half Marathon | Running Inspired Blog

Leave a Reply

