2014 Carlsbad Marathon Training Update (Week 9 of 16)

A solid week of training and continue to progress. Everything seems to be in balance, hard runs followed up with adequate rest and recovery. Although I’m running significantly less miles per week compared to the same time last year when training for the Carlsbad Marathon (30 to 35 miles compared to 50 to 60 miles), I’m in much better shape. I personally seem to respond better to running higher quality miles than higher volume.

Report Cardcarlsbad-grade-wk9

Running:  (A-) 35 miles of running this week.  Ran intervals on Tuesday, tempo run on Thursday and 20-mile long run on Sunday.

Sleep:  (A) Solid 8 hours of sleep most nights with a few short afternoon naps.

Diet/Hydration:  (B-) Thanksgiving week, that’s my excuse.  Stayed hydrated, but gave in too often to pies and other things I should have stayed away from.  Renewed emphasis on sticking with at least 90% whole foods.

Weight/Body Fat:  (B-) Third week in a row where I gained weight, continues to creep up. Weight increased 0.1 lbs from 146.5 to 146.6 lbs. My body fat another increased 0.1% from 9.0% to 9.1%.

Cross-Training/Stretching:  (A) Solid week of cross-training – spin bike, yoga, strength and core training.

Stress Management:  (B+) Relatively stress free week.

Body Condition/Injuries:  (A-) Nothing significant to report on the injury front other than a mildly painful spot on the top of my left foot.  Not sure where the pain is coming from, but hasn’t really affected my running.

Overall:  (B+) Solid week, just need to work on the diet.

Training Recap

Running:  35 miles

Core/Strength:  1 hour

Bike Trainer:  3 hours

Yoga:  2 hours, 32 minutes

Total Exercise Time:  10 hours, 59 minutes

Monday – 15 minutes yoga, 45 minutes bike trainer, 20 minutes yoga

TuesdayInterval Run, 2 x 1 mile (6:34 and 6:22), 2 x 0.5 miles (3:03 and 2:57) w/1 minute rest jog between intervals, 20 minutes yoga

Wednesday – 15 minutes core, 45 minutes bike trainer, 15 minutes strength, 7 minutes yoga

ThursdayTempo Run, 2 miles EZ, 4 miles at tempo pace (6:34, 6:26, 6:19 and 6:07)), 2 miles EZ, 20 minutes yoga

Friday – 15 minutes yoga, 45 minutes bike trainer, 20 minutes yoga

Saturday – 15 minutes core, 15 minutes strength, 45 minutes bike trainer, 15 minutes yoga

SundayLong Run (20 miles – average pace 7:37), 20 minutes yoga

Training Plancarlsbad-training-plan-wk9

 

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Running, San Diego, Training, Yoga and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

