Running Goals for 2014

Below is a recap of my 2013 running goals along with my goals for 2014.  It was a mixed bag for 2013, but I’m going to call it successful overall.  I have nothing outlandish planned for 2014 other than some incremental improvements in my race times and eating a 95% whole foods, plant based diet. I’m not a big goals person, but find them helpful with running because you can easily measure and quantify them. I still think I may have a couple PRs left in my legs, so we’ll see what happens.

Recap of 2013 Goals:

1.  Run 1,800 miles – Close, but a little short.  Ran 1,632 miles in 2014.

2.  Run 4 Marathons – Close, ran 3 marathons this year – Carlsbad, Boston and San Diego.  I did run 2 half marathons, which is a distance I’m really beginning to like.  I decided to nix the 4th marathon since I was burned out on marathon training and needed a break after San Diego.

3.  Run a sub-3:10 marathon – Fail, best time was 3:24.  Plan to try again in 2014.

4.  Eat 80% vegan, sleep 7 – 9 hours a night, maintain weight between 140 ~ 150 lbs, cross-train/stretch, and keep stress low – Achieved, did a relatively good job in all these areas, although I did experiment for a few months with a low-carb diet.  However, I’m back to mostly a whole foods, plant based diet again.

Goals for 2014:

1.  Run 1,500 miles

2.  Run 2 Marathons (Carlsbad and Mountain to Beach marathon)

3.  Run a sub 3:10 marathon

4.  Run 4 Half Marathons

5.  Run a sub 1:25 half marathon

6.  Eat 95% vegan, sleep 8+ hours a night, maintain weight between 140 ~ 150 lbs and body fat between 7 ~ 9%, cross-train/stretch on my non-running days, and maintain a low stress lifestyle

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Goals, Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Running Goals for 2014

  1. Ani says:

    Those are amazing goals for 2014! I ran nearly 1,250 miles in 2013 and completed my first marathon 🙂 I cannot wait to see what the new year brings!

  2. Kats says:

    I really like your blog. Happy new year! Great goals to strive for. Kathryn

Leave a Reply

