Race Report: 2014 Carlsbad Marathon

2014-carlsbad-marathon-medal

2014 Carlsbad Marathon Finisher’s Medal

Time:  3:12:24

Overall:  64 / 1438

Gender (M):  56 / 850

Division (M 40-44):  10 / 140

Garmin:  http://connect.garmin.com/activity/432721198

Don’t have an official time yet, appears there were some issues with my timing chip.  Hope I can get it corrected since it’s a Boston qualifying time. Regardless, my Garmin clocked a 3:12:24, which I’m pretty satisfied with and was only 14 seconds off my PR on a moderately challenging course.  Going into the marathon I was predicting a time between 3:10 to 3:20, so looks like I had a good handle on where I was fitness-wise and put together a good pacing strategy.  Never really struggled throughout the marathon, gave it an even effort from start to finish, although the pace per mile did fluctuate considerably with the hilly terrain. My quads got a little tight around mile 15, but fortunately never cramped.

Carlsbad-Splits (2)

Again, the race was laid back and well organized.  There were plenty of fluid stations and free gels, almost too many.  Seemed like I was being offered water every half mile.  Port-a-potties were plentiful at the start but sporadic along the course – had to stop twice, around mile 8 and 16. It’s a small marathon, so congestion was not an issue until the end when the full marathoners merge with the half marathoners around mile 20 – didn’t really like this, but wasn’t too disruptive.  The weather was good, although got a little warm toward the end.  The race started in the mid-50s and probably finished in the mid-60s.  The finish area was pretty efficient, first the medal, then mylar blanket, water and snack bag.

Although I really like this marathon, not sure whether or not I’ll run it next year.  It was my third time running it, so may look for something else in the Southern California area. But overall, very happy with this past training cycle and my results today.  My legs are beat up a bit, so don’t plan to run this upcoming week, but may do a little easy running the following week. Then I’ll begin another 16-week marathon training cycle for the Mountains 2 Beach Marathon in late-May.

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Marathons, Race Reports, Running, San Diego and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Race Report: 2014 Carlsbad Marathon

  1. Laura says:

    Congrats! I’ve heard good things about this course and race!

  2. Great time! 3:12 is not considered being a talented runner??

  3. Another stellar time! Congrats! That was a really challenging course! 🙂

Leave a Reply

