Mountains 2 Beach Marathon Training Plan

m2bmarathon-logo

It’s been about 5 days since the Carlsbad Marathon and I’m recovering well – all the aches and pains have gone away.  I’m taking this week off from running (replaced with moderate cross-training on the bike trainer) and will do some easy runs next week before I embark on my next training cycle for the Mountains 2 Beach Marathon on May 25th.  I also have two half marathons (San Diego and La Jolla) planned between now and my next marathon, which I’ve incorporated into my 16-week training plan below.

Given the successful training cycle I just completed for the Carlsbad Marathon, I don’t plan to change much other than make a tweak here and there – I seem to have a good formula that works for me.  There are three running days each week – intervals on Tuesday, tempo on Thursday and long run on Sunday.  The highest mileage week is around 38 miles.  On my non-running days, I plan to cross-train primarily on my bike trainer along with a moderate amount of yoga, core and strength training.  The cross-training, yoga and limited (but quality) running miles/days seems to keep me healthy and less injury prone. Probably the only difference will be to try and run at a slightly faster pace than my last training cycle and add a little more intensity on the bike trainer.

On a weekly basis, I’ll also assess and provide an update on the quality of my runs, the amount of sleep I received (ideally 8 to 9 hours), quality of diet (primarily plant-based), weight/body fat (ideally get below 143 lbs/8.3% before the marathon), quality of cross-training, stress management and overall health/injuries.

I’m going into this training cycle very motivated after last Sunday’s marathon – which was on a hilly and moderately difficult course.  The Mountains 2 Beach Marathon won’t be as difficult and is supposedly one of the fastest courses in the country.  This may be a great opportunity to finally break 3 hours and 10 minutes as well as set a new PR as long as I stay balanced and disciplined over the next four months.

m2b-training-plan

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Running, Training and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mountains 2 Beach Marathon Training Plan

  1. bpangie says:

    Will you be using the halves as races, or pace work for the marathon? I always want to use them as pace work, but end up racing them…

    • I will definitely race the first one, but not sure about the second one, may use that as a fast tempo run. But like you, once I get in the moment, I’ll probably want to race them both.

  2. road says:

    How do you choose your ‘tempo’ and ‘interval’ paces? I’ve been reading Pfitzinger, who suggests “15K/HM pace” for tempo runs and “5K pace” for intervals. Is that about right? Do you adjust your HM or 5K paces based on recent races?

    • Assuming I’m training for a sub 3:10 marathon, my tempo paces will range from 6:20 – 7:00/mile, depending upon the length of the tempo. This is close to my half marathon pace. For my intervals, I usually don’t have a specific target pace and run by feel, but 5K to 10K pace sounds about right. But again, I primarily go by feel – if I’m feeling good, I may run a little faster, and if I feel flat, I’ll slow it down – I think the body can tell you how hard you can push, but Pfitzinger’s guidelines makes sense to me.

Leave a Reply

