2014 Mountains to Beach Marathon Training Update (Week 1 of 16)

I seem to be fully recovered from the Carlsbad Marathon that I completed three weeks ago. I just finished a good first week of this training cycle.  Relative to the first week of my last 16-week training cycle for the Carlsbad Marathon, I’m starting off in noticeably better shape. My goal this training cycle is to run incrementally better than the last training cycle, which I’ll annotate below in my training recap.

I’ve signed up for the remaining races for this calendar year.  In addition to this upcoming marathon in May, which will be my last marathon for this calendar year, I’ve signed up for five half marathons:  San Diego Half Marathon (March); La Jolla Half Marathon (April); America’s Finest City Half Marathon (August); Silver Strand Half Marathon (November); and San Diego Holiday Half Marathon (December).  About two full marathons and five half marathon spread throughout the year seems to be a good balance for me.  I really like the half marathon distance and seem to do better at this distance compared to the full marathon distance.

I’m still undecided on my plans for 2015, but toying with the idea of running Boston again since I have a qualifying time from Carlsbad.  However, there are a number of other nice marathons out there that I would like to run and not sure if it might be better to do a marathon I’ve never done before.  I still have until September to decide.

Report Card

m2b-grade-wk1Running:  (A) 30 miles of running this week.  Ran 3 x 1 mile intervals on Tuesday, tempo on Thursday and a 13 mile long run on Sunday.  All three runs were quality runs and seem to be getting my interval speed back.

Sleep:  (A) About 8 hours of sleep each night with a short afternoon nap.

Diet/Hydration:  (A-)  Maintained good hydration and ate mostly whole foods, but indulged a couple times on sweets.

Weight/Body Fat:  (A) 143.0 lbs and 8.2% body fat.  I’m right where I want to be with my weight and body fat.

Cross-Training/Stretching:  (A) Incorporated a good amount of quality cross-training.  3 hours on the bike trainer; two 30-minute core/strength sessions; and over 2 hours of yoga spread throughout the week.

Stress Management:  (A-) Busy week, but stress was manageable.

Body Condition/Injuries:  (A) Nothing of significance.  

Overall:  (A) Great start to the training cycle.  Just need to keep doing what I’m doing and good things will happen.

Training Recap

Running:  30 miles

Core/Strength:  1 hour

Bike Trainer:  3 hours

Yoga:  2 hours and 22 minutes

Total Exercise Time:  10 hours, 1 minute

Monday – 15 minutes yoga, 45 minutes bike trainer, 15 minutes yoga

Tuesday – Interval Run, 3 x 1 mile w/400m rest jog between intervals (6:13, 6:04 and 6:01), 20 minutes yoga  (Previous Training Cycle:  6:29, 6:20 and 6:09)

Wednesday – 15 minutes core, 45 minutes bike trainer, 15 minutes strength, 7 minutes yoga

Thursday – Tempo Run 3 miles EZ, 2 miles @ tempo pace (6:16 and 6:11), 3 miles EZ, 20 minutes yoga (Previous Training Cycle:  6:25 and 6:19)

Friday – 15 minutes yoga, 45 minutes bike trainer, 15 minutes yoga

Saturday – 30 minutes core/strength, 45 minutes bike trainer, 15 minutes yoga

Sunday – Long Run, 13 miles (average pace 7:13/mile), 20 minutes yoga (Previous Training Cycle:  average pace 7:34/mile)

Training Plan

m2b-training-plan-wk1

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Running, Training, Yoga and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

