2014 Mountains to Beach Marathon Training Update (Week 6 of 16)

This was a week of recovery from last week’s half marathon. Although I went through the motions of my training plan, my pace for the training runs were ratcheted back a couple notches. I still feel a little fatigue in my legs, but plan to get back on track this upcoming week.

Report Card

m2b-grade-wk6

Running:  (B-) 34 miles of running this week. Ran moderate paced intervals (2 x 1200m, 4 x 800m) on Tuesday, moderate paced 5-mile tempo run on Thursday and 18 mile long run on Sunday.

Sleep:  (B) Getting about 6 to 8 hours of sleep each night with a short afternoon nap. Quality of sleep has been okay, just need to consistently get close to 8 hours a night for optimal health.

Diet/Hydration:  (B+) Maintained good hydration and ate mostly plant based foods. But ate a few more sweets than I probably should have.

Weight/Body Fat:  (A) Weight decreased 0.1 lbs from 142.1 lbs for 142.0 lbs.  Body fat remained unchanged at 8.0%.  Continuing to maintain my weight under 143 lbs.

Cross-Training/Stretching:  (A-) Incorporated a good dose of cross-training.  3 hours on the bike trainer; 45-minutes of core/strength sessions; and over 2 hours of yoga spread throughout the week.

Stress Management:  (B) Work continues to be very busy and putting in more hours than normal.  Stress levels a bit elevated.

Body Condition/Injuries:  (B+) No injuries, but body was recovering from the half marathon last week.  Thought I would recover faster, but guess I pushed it more than I thought.  

Overall:  (B+) Not the most productive week of training, but good enough.

Training Recap

Running:  34 miles

Core/Strength:  45 minutes

Bike Trainer:  3 hours

Yoga:  2 hours and 15 minutes

Total Exercise Time:  10 hours, 29 minutes

Monday – 15 minutes yoga, 45 minutes bike trainer, 15 minutes yoga

Tuesday – Interval Run, 2 x 1200m (5:13 and 5:18) and 4 x 800m (3:20, 3:22, 3:28 and 3:12) w/400m rest jog between intervals, 20 minutes yoga  (Previous Training Cycle:  5:07, 4:56, 3:07, 3:09, 3:12 and 2:50)

Wednesday – 15 minutes core, 45 minutes bike trainer, 15 minutes strength, 7 minutes yoga

Thursday – Tempo Run, 5 miles (6:55, 7:11, 7:09, 7:05 and 7:10), 20 minutes yoga (Previous Training Cycle:  6:45, 6:44, 6:42, 6:32 and 6:29)

Friday – 15 minutes yoga, 45 minutes bike trainer, 15 minutes yoga

Saturday – 15 minutes core, 45 minutes bike trainer, 10 minutes yoga

Sunday – Long Run, 18 miles (average pace 7:59/mile), 20 minutes yoga (Previous Training Cycle:  average pace 7:45/mile)

Training Plan

m2b-training-plan-wk6

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Running, Training, Yoga and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

