2014 Mountains to Beach Marathon Training Update (Week 8 of 16)

I am halfway through my training cycle.  The first four weeks started out very well, but the last four weeks have been a bit of a struggle.  The last four weeks haven’t been bad, but not everything is holistically coming together and there is certainly room for improvement.  The next five weeks will be the most critical, so I’ll need to tighten up my discipline, especially when it comes to my diet.

Earlier in the week I had to scrap my Tuesday run early because I started feeling some pain on the outside of my right knee after about 1 mile into the run.  Fortunately, it was one of those warning pains that wasn’t serious, but could become serious and chronic if I continued the workout to completion.  After not running for a couple more days (although I cross-trained on my bike trainer instead), it went away and I was able to resume my training plan.  I’ve gotten a little better over the years to be able to distinguish whether I can run through pain and when it is time to stop and rest before something more serious takes hold.

I have the La Jolla Half Marathon scheduled in four weeks.  I was planning to race it, but now I’m thinking I’ll just make it a long tempo run.  The San Diego Half Marathon I ran three weeks ago may have taken more out of me than I anticipated, and that is why I’ve been struggling the last few weeks to get back on track.  I think it would be too risky to try and race the La Jolla Half Marathon only four weeks before the full marathon.  So note to future self, only schedule one half marathon mid-way through a training cycle.

Report Card

m2b-grade-wk8

Running:  (B) 28 miles of running this week. Had to scrap my Tuesday run due to pain on the outside of my right knee. Ran intervals (12 x 400m) on Thursday and 18 mile long run on Sunday. The runs went well, but still feel I’m a little behind where I wanted to be at this point.

Sleep:  (A-) Got about 8 hours of sleep each night with short afternoon naps. Quality of sleep good.

Diet/Hydration:  (A-) Ate pretty well this week, mostly a whole foods plant based diet.  But probably ate just a litte too much, need to make sure I balance the calories with the energy expended. Kept well hydrated most of the week as well.

Weight/Body Fat:  (B) Weight continues the upward trend, will need to reverse the trend over the next few weeks.  My weight increased 0.6 lbs from 143.6 lbs to 144.2 lbs.  Body fat increased 0.3% from 8.3% to 8.6%.

Cross-Training/Stretching:  (A) Incorporated a good dose of cross-training.  3.5 hours on the bike trainer; 1 hours of core/strength sessions; and 2 hours of yoga spread throughout the week.

Stress Management:  (B) Work continues to be very busy, but managable.

Body Condition/Injuries:  (B) Right knee pain early in the week, but seems to be okay now. No other injuries or pains to speak of.

Overall:  (B+) It was a productive week, but there is room for improvement.

Training Recap

Running:  28 miles

Core/Strength:  1 hour

Bike Trainer:  3.5 hours

Yoga:  2 hours

Total Exercise Time:  10 hours, 14 minutes

Monday – 15 minutes yoga, 45 minutes bike trainer, 15 minutes yoga

Tuesday – EZ2 (Had to quit run early due to knee pain.), 30 minutes bike trainer, 20 minutes yoga  (Previous Training Cycle:  N/A)

Wednesday – 15 minutes core, 45 minutes bike trainer, 15 minutes strength

Thursday – Intervals, 12 x 400s (1:27, 1:30, 1:26, 1:31, 1:29, 1:26, 1:28, 1:28, 1:27, 1:34, 1:22 and 1:22) w/90 second rest jog, 20 minutes yoga (Previous Training Cycle:  1:37, 1:43, 1:39, 1:39, 1:38, 1:35, 1:39, 1:37, 1:35, 1:39, 1:33 and 1:33)

Friday – 15 minutes yoga, 45 minutes bike trainer, 15 minutes yoga

Saturday – 15 minutes core, 45 minutes bike trainer, 15 minutes strength

Sunday – Long Run, 18 miles (average pace 7:25/mile), 20 minutes yoga (Previous Training Cycle:  average pace 7:31/mile)

Training Plan

m2b-training-plan-wk8

 

 

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Running, Training, Yoga and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

