2014 Mountains to Beach Marathon Training Update (Week 11 of 16)

Another productive week of training.  Relative to my last training cycle, I’m continuing to run slightly better, although I think I could be running even better if I did a better job with my sleep, diet and weight.  Only two more weeks of hard training before the taper starts, at which point, there isn’t much more I’ll be able to do to improve.

I have a half marathon next Sunday.  Since I plan to make it a long tempo run, I don’t have any plans to rest up this week.  I’ll continue the normal routine of intervals on Tuesday, tempo on Thursday and cross-train on the other days, although I might take Saturday off and scale back some of the strength training.

Report Card

m2b-grade-wk11

Running:  (A) 36 miles of running this week. Ran intervals on Tuesday, tempo on Thursday and 20-mile long run on Sunday.  All runs were solid.

Sleep:  (B) A little light on the sleep this week, probably averaged 7 hours of sleep each night with short afternoon naps. I normally like to get at least 8 hours and it is noticeable when I don’t.

Diet/Hydration:  (B) Ate okay most of the week, but went out with some high school buddies on Friday night, and ate a bunch of unhealthy foods.  I guess it is okay on occasion to indulge, but when I do it, it seems like it messes with my stomach for a couple days afterward.  I’m so used to eating a mostly plant based whole foods diet, and whenever I eat the crap they serve at sports bars, I can’t handle it anymore.

Weight/Body Fat:  (B) Weight slightly up again this week.  My weight increased 0.1 lbs from 144.7 lbs to 144.8 lbs.  Body fat remained unchanged at 8.6%.

Cross-Training/Stretching:  (A) Incorporated all my planned cross-training.  3 hours on the bike trainer; 1 hours of core/strength sessions; and 2 hours of yoga spread throughout the week.

Stress Management:  (A) Work was busy, but not very stressful.

Body Condition/Injuries:  (A) No significant pains to speak of this week. 

Overall:  (A-) Another good week of training.

Training Recap

Running:  36 miles

Core/Strength:  1 hour

Bike Trainer:  3 hours

Yoga:  2 hours

Total Exercise Time:  10 hours, 26 minutes

Monday – 15 minutes yoga, 45 minutes bike trainer, 15 minutes yoga

Tuesday – Intervals, 1000m (3:56), 2000m (7:50), 1000m (3:51), 1000m (3:46), w/400m rest jog between intervals, 20 minutes yoga  (Previous Training Cycle:  3:56, 7:49, 3:53 and 3:50)

Wednesday – 15 minutes core, 45 minutes bike trainer, 15 minutes strength

Thursday – Tempo, 2 mile warm-up, 5 miles @ tempo (6:39, 6:39, 6:31, 6:37, 6:23), 1 mile cooldown, 20 minutes yoga (Previous Training Cycle:  6:49, 6:48, 6:48, 6:37 and 6:25)

Friday – 15 minutes yoga, 45 minutes bike trainer, 15 minutes yoga

Saturday – 15 minutes core, 15 minutes strength, 45 minutes bike trainer

Saturday – Long Run, 20 miles (average pace 7:11/mile), 20 minutes yoga (Previous Training Cycle:  average pace 7:27/mile)

Training Plan

m2b-training-plan-wk11

 

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Running, Training, Yoga and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

