2014 Mountains to Beach Marathon Training Update (Week 15 of 16)

The marathon is next Sunday and I’m feeling confident that I’ve put myself in a position to PR.  Although not a perfect training cycle, it was pretty good.  I was consistent all around for the most part and avoided any significant injury.  There are a number of things that could go wrong next week that may or may not be within my control that could prevent me from setting a new PR, but I think with any training cycle, the goal is to put yourself in a position for success and hope for the best.

Since this Mountains to Beach Marathon course has a gradual downhill for a good portion of race (miles 6 – 21), I plan to run relatively aggressive.  If the weather cooperates – although it is not looking good – my goal is to average 7:00 minute miles, but will probably run a little faster than this during the downhill portions.  If the weather is too warm, then I’ll just run by feel.

My legs felt a little heavy this past week.  This is usually the case during the taper period, not sure why, but usually happens every training cycle.  For the final week, I don’t plan on doing any strength or cross-training.  I’ll continue to do some moderate stretching, with a short interval run on Tuesday and short marathon pace run on Thursday.  Also, plan to try and get 8 to 9 hours of sleep each night, drink plenty of fluids and eat clean.

Report Card

m2b-grade-wk15

Running:  (B+) 24 miles of running this week.  Intervals on Wednesday, short tempo on Friday and 10 mile long run on Sunday.  Legs seemed a bit fatigued this week.  I used to worry about this, but this is pretty typical for me during the taper period and felt fine when it was time to run the marathon.

Sleep:  (A) Got 8 hours of sleep every night and short afternoon naps during the day.

Diet/Hydration:  (B+) Ate okay, but ate a few things I shouldn’t have.

Weight/Body Fat:  (A-) My weight decreased 0.4 lbs from 144.0 lbs to 143.6 lbs.  Body fat also decreased from 8.5% to 8.3%.  Although I lost a little weight, I was hoping to be under 143 lbs by this time.  However, I’m almost 2 lbs less compared to my last training cycle.

Cross-Training/Stretching:  (A) About 3 hours on the bike trainer; 60 minutes of core/strength sessions; and 2 hours of yoga spread throughout the week.

Stress Management:  (A) Low stress week.

Body Condition/Injuries:  (A) No other significant pains to speak of this week.  

Overall:  (A-) Good week of training for the second taper week.

Training Recap

Running:  24 miles

Core/Strength:  60 minutes

Bike Trainer:  3 hours

Yoga:  2 hours

Total Exercise Time:  8 hours, 53 minutes

Monday – 15 minutes yoga, 45 minutes bike trainer, 15 minutes yoga

Tuesday – 15 minutes core, 45 minutes bike trainer, 15 minutes yoga

Wednesday – Intervals – 5 x 1000m (4:06, 4:06, 3:57, 3:55 and 4:08), w/400m rest jog, 15 minutes strength  (Previous Training Cycle: 4:07, 3:59, 3:50, 3:48 and 3:55)

Thursday – 15 minutes yoga, 45 minutes bike trainer, 15 minutes yoga

Friday – Tempo, 2 mile warm-up, 3 miles @ tempo (6:42, 6:35 and 6:20), 2 mile cooldown, 20 minutes yoga (Previous Training Cycle:  6:20, 6:17 and 6:17)

Saturday – 15 minutes core, 45 minutes bike trainer, 15 minutes strength

Saturday – Long Run – 10 miles (average pace 6:59/mile), 20 minutes yoga (Previous Training Cycle:  average pace 7:09/mile)

Training Plan

m2b-training-plan-wk15

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Running, Training, Yoga and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2014 Mountains to Beach Marathon Training Update (Week 15 of 16)

  1. runmyssierun says:

    Way to go!!! You’ve got this!!!

Leave a Reply

