2014 Mountains to Beach Marathon Training Update (Week 16 of 16)

The final week of my taper went okay, but not great.  The excitement I used to have going into a marathon just doesn’t seem to be there anymore.  As a result, my motivation and focus has waned.  I plan to take an extended break from full marathons for the foreseeable future and focus on improving my half marathon time.

Report Card

m2b-grade-wk16Running:  (B) 10 miles of running this week before the marathon.  Short intervals on Tuesday and a short tempo on Thursday.  Legs felt a little flat, but not unusual during the taper period.

Sleep:  (A-) Got 8 – 9 hours of sleep almost every night, but fewer afternoon naps during the day.

Diet/Hydration:  (B) Ate okay, but probably a few more sweets than I should have.

Weight/Body Fat:  (B) My weight increased 0.6 lbs from 143.6 lbs to 144.2 lbs.  Body fat also increased from 8.3% to 8.5%.  A little weight gain is almost inevitable during the taper period since the activity level is considerably less.

Cross-Training/Stretching:  (A-) No cross-training other than stretching for 20 to 30 minutes daily.

Stress Management:  (D) Very busy and stressful week at work.  It’s amazing to me what stress does to the mindset and body.  I was hoping it would be a relatively laid back week, but it was one of those weeks.

Body Condition/Injuries:  (A) Body felt great, no other significant pains to speak of going into the marathon.

Overall:  (B) Okay week of training, but since the stress level was high, I think it affected other aspects of my training.

Training Recap

Running:  10 miles

Core/Strength:  0 minutes

Bike Trainer:  0 minutes

Yoga:  2 hours

Total Exercise Time:  3 hours, 4 minutes

Monday – 35 minutes yoga

Tuesday – Intervals – 6 x 400m (1:41, 1:46, 1:39, 1:36, 1:35 and 1:33) w/400m rest jog, (Previous Training Cycle: 1:29, 1:24, 1:25, 1:25, 1:20 and 1:25)

Wednesday – 20 minutes yoga

Thursday – Tempo, 2 mile warm-up, 3 miles @ tempo (6:58, 6:49 and 6:56), 1 mile cooldown, 15 minutes yoga (Previous Training Cycle:  6:20, 6:17 and 6:17)

Friday – 35 minutes yoga

Saturday – None

Sunday – Mountains to Beach Marathon

Training Plan

m2b-training-plan-wk16

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Running, Training, Yoga and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

