AFC Half Marathon Training Update (Weeks 1 & 2)

The first two weeks of training for the AFC Half Marathon has been somewhat difficult. I’m still recovering from the last month’s marathon and still experiencing some minor aches and pain in both feet.  The leg speed is coming back gradually, but mentally I just don’t have the motivation to push too hard.  Eventually, the fog will lift, I’m sure.

As far as my training goes, I’m going through the motions.  I’m averaging about 31 miles a weeks, with intervals on Tuesday, a tempo run on Thursday and a 15 mile long run on Sunday. I’m not going to post the details this training cycle as I have in the past, but if you want to see what I did for my runs the last two weeks, you can find them at the following link:

http://connect.garmin.com/dashboard?cid=24864994

I’m doing three new things this training cycle.  First, I’m incorporating some walking every evening after dinner.  Not a lot, maybe 1 to 2 miles for 20 to 30 minutes.  This also seems to help with the digestion.  Second, I’m trying to eat less.  I normally eat until I’m full, but want to stop a little before I get to that point.  In general, we all just eat too much for no good reason and controlling my appetite is a habit I’d like to master.  And third, take cold showers – not freezing – but cold enough to make it somewhat uncomfortable.  There are supposedly lots of health benefits to cold showers, so I’m giving it a try. I’m not sure if any of this will help my running, but I’m trying to form these habits for health reasons and not necessarily to run faster.

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Running, Training and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to AFC Half Marathon Training Update (Weeks 1 & 2)

  1. Cold showers?! Brave! I started taking shorter showers a few months back. What used to take 15-20 mins now takes me 8-10! I’m also working on the “not feeling full” for training. I kicked off a juice cleanse & it’s helping break the habit.

    • The cold showers are not a lot of fun, but it has definitely cut my shower times down by at least half. Seems to help with the recovery after a run too. As far as the not feeling full, it takes some willpower, but I feel a lot better throughout the day. Good luck with you juice cleanse!

Leave a Reply

