AFC Half Marathon Training Update (Weeks 6 to 9)

I executed the 9-week training plan relatively closely, but didn’t really have my heart in it. It has been a bit warm and humid the past few weeks, so my pacing has been noticeably slower.  I’m close to being in the same shape as last year when I ran this race in 1:29, but the weather looks like it will be a little warmer this year compared to last year.  Last year started at 63 degree with cloud cover, but this year has a forecast of 71 degrees.  As a result, I think it will be a challenge to break 1:30.

I don’t have much of a strategy going into the race tomorrow.  I’ll run by feel, but try to maintain a sub-7 minute pace for most of the race.  The course can be fast, with the first two miles on mild rolling hills, miles 2 – 5 downhill, miles 5 – 11.5 flat, miles 11.5 – 12.5 on a steep uphill, then flat to the finish.

I am 3 lbs lighter (145.2 lbs vs 142.2 lbs) with 0.8% less body fat (8.8% vs 8.0%) compared to the same time last year. However, I’m not sure I really feel any lighter when running.  It is also interesting to note that I’m still experiencing the mild plantar fasciitis one year later. It hasn’t really gotten any worse, but doesn’t seem to want to go away.

It should be interesting tomorrow.  Normally I go into these races motivated and with some level of confidence of how I’ll do.  But honestly, I’m not sure what to expect or if I’ll rise to the occasion.


2014-afc-marathon-training-plan

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Running, Training and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

