Race Report: 2014 AFC Half Marathon

afc-half-marathon medalTime:  1:32:16

Overall:  125 / 6,164

Division (M 40-44):  10 / 441

Gender (M):  92 / 2,950

Just completed the 2014 AFC half Marathon this morning. It was a lot tougher this year compared to last year due to the warmer weather and humidity. Last year started in the mid 60s and was overcast the entire race. This year started in the low 70s with little to no cloud cover and it seemed to warm up as the race went on. Considering the weather, I’m okay with my time. I was hoping to break 1:30, and I gave it a shot, but around mile 8 I knew I wasn’t going to be able to sustain the sub-7 minute pace, especially knowing there was a long and relatively steep 1.5 mile hill at the end of the course. From mile 8 I started to back off the pace and when the hills arrived, I was pretty fried and just wanted to finish in one piece.

I was 10th in my age group out of 441 finishers. This was actually two spots higher than last year, which was surprising considering I was over 3 minutes slower this year. I guess everyone was hurting. Since my training cycle for this race was rather lackadaisical and I don’t run well in the heat, I was expecting to finish much further down the list.

The race itself is pretty no-nonsense, which is why I like it. It is a runner’s race and they keep the organization and and all the sideshows simple. This year was no exception. They get the basics right – interesting course, plenty of parking, adequate transportation to the start, a good amount of port-a-potties, fair number of water stations and managing the flow of traffic – although I did have to stop once for the trolley to pass. It is a unique course that starts at the Cabrillo National Monument in Point Loma and finishes downtown at Balboa Park – so you get to experience a good part of the San Diego bayfront.

Although I enjoy running this race, not certain if I will run it again next year. The good part is that it is one of the few summer marathons in San Diego, but I’m thinking of maybe running something different next year.

2014-afc-marathon-splits

 

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Marathons, Race Reports, Running, San Diego and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Race Report: 2014 AFC Half Marathon

  1. Matt says:

    Too bad the race didn’t do exactly as you hoped it would, but there is always the next one to look forward too! I also wanted to point out that I miss reading your training “reviews” every week. If you don’t have the time to write that much anymore, so be it, but I, as well as other followers of your blog, would like the weekly posts to come back again. I always enjoyed seeing the progression of your paces and fitness as the weeks went by. Just a thought…

Leave a Reply

