2014 Silver Strand Half Marathon Training Plan

Took this past week off from running and will take another week off before easing back into my next training cycle in early September. Although I feel fine, I think in the past I didn’t allow sufficient recovery time after a race before starting the next training cycle. This resulted in some odd injuries and lack of motivation. In lieu of running, I’ve be getting on my bike trainer every morning for about 45 minutes, in addition to my normal strength training and stretching.

Below is what I devised for my weekly assessment and training plan for the upcoming Silver Strand Half Marathon (Coronado, CA) in mid-November. The training plan is very similar to the one I used for the AFC Half Marathon, but plan to incorporate a little more strength training and alternate my long runs between 13 to 15 miles each week. In addition, I’m going to monitor my blood pressure and check my pulse every morning this training cycle since it will give me an objective measure of whether or not I may be over-training or overly stressed.

Weekly Assessment Plan

2014-silver-strand-assessment-plan

 Training Plan

2014-silver-strand-training-plan

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Running, Training and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

