2014 Silver Strand Half Marathon Training Update (Week 1 of 11)

I started running again this week after taking a full two weeks off. The first couple runs earlier in the week felt a little off, but I felt great during this morning’s longer run. Taking the time off from running seems to have been good for me, I seem to be more motivated going into this training cycle.

I am starting this training cycle in relatively good shape. I still experience some aches in my feet when I first wake up in the morning, but disappear after walking around for a few minutes. The foot pain does not bother me when I run.

I’m at an all time low weight and fat percentage and my vital signs seems to be good (see table below). I attribute this to keeping my food portions moderate and increasing the amounts of super foods in my diet. Eating higher quality food rich in nutrients tends to keep my appetite in check. Although I’m not a vegan, I tend to minimize any meat or dairy in my diet and eat mostly plant based and organic when it’s an option.

My sleep and rest has been good, but not great. I have nights where I’ll sleep through most of the night and that’s when I feel really great during the day. There will be other nights where I seem to be waking up every couple hours and then it will take 30 minutes to an hour to get back to sleep. I’m trying to figure out what triggers a restless night of sleep, but haven’t been able to really pinpoint it, although I’m sure it has something to do with stress and my cortisol levels.

I’m doing a few things differently this training cycle than in the past. First, I plan to see a chiropractor every week or two for adjustments. Although I don’t really have any significant spinal or back problems, I know a lot of elite runners use a chiropractor and claim it does wonders. Second, I plan to get a massage every couple weeks to help with recovery after a long run. I got acupuncture massages when I lived in Japan and it seemed to help with my alignment and recovery. Third, I plan to stand at work when on the computer. I sit for the large portion of the day and I know it is not healthy to sit for hours on end at a computer screen.

Overall, it was a good week to start the next training cycle.

Weekly Assessment

2014-silver-strand-assessment-plan-wk1

Training Plan

2014-silver-strand-training-plan-wk1

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Running, Training and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

