2014 Silver Strand Half Marathon Training Update (Week 2 of 11)

Solid week of training.  Completed all my planned runs for a total of 28 miles, although the my pace and splits have been relatively slow.  I think this is primarily due to taking some time off from running a while back and the warm weather and humidity we’ve been experiencing here in Southern California.  Also, got in all my planned cross-training, including a moderate amount of strength work and stretching.

Weight is down to 140.1 lbs with 7.6% body fat.  Morning pulse averaged the same as last week and my blood pressure was a slightly lower.  However, although I’m as light as I ever been, I don’t really feel it making me run any easier or faster.  Makes me wonder if 140 lbs may not be my ideal running weight.  I’ll give it a couple more weeks, but I’m thinking of adding some weight back on.

I’ve had two chiropractor adjustments within the past two weeks.  It does seem to help me feel more balanced with my running, although it could just be in my head.  Combined with the adjustments and changing my work station where a stand for at least half the day, my back feels great.

Been sleeping better, usually only wake up a couple times a night, but get back to sleep within a few minutes.  Been eating pretty clean as well, mostly plant based. Stress levels have been moderate, although I’ve been putting in a lot of hours at work.

Overall, a good week of training and health.

Weekly Assessment

2014-silver-strand-assessment-plan-wk2

Training Plan

2014-silver-strand-training-plan-wk2

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Running, Training and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

