2014 Silver Strand Half Marathon Training Update (Weeks 4 through 8 of 11)

It’s been five weeks since I last posted. The reason is due to being very busy at work during the end of September, followed by a two week vacation to Japan. As a result, my training has suffered and I’m also in the process of recovering from a sore left knee (MCL sprain). Needless to say, I’m WAY off track on where I should be. My goal at this point is to just try and get to the starting line healthy and complete the half marathon that is three weeks away.

However, the past 5 weeks have not been a total waste. I read a few books on running, which were really impactful and has changed my mind on how to train and where I want to go with my running in the future.  The three books were 80/20 Running: Run Stronger and Race Faster By Training Slower by Matt Fitzgerald, 1:59: The Sub-Two-Hour Marathon Is Within Reach—Here’s How It Will Go Down, and What It Can Teach All Runners about Training and Racing and The Big Book of Endurance Training and Racing by Dr. Philip Maffetone. I’ve come to the conclusion, based upon reading these books, that I needed an overhaul of my training plans, eliminate refined carbohydrates from my diet and manage stress better. I’ll discuss theoretical details in future posts, but the bottom line is I need to significantly improve my aerobic base by keeping my heart rate below a certain threshold and drastically cut back on the speed work – although there is much more to it than that.

Not a great week of training when it comes to running. I’ve aggravated the MCL in my left knee again, most likely from not allowing my body to adjust to some new shoes that I recently purchased (Hoka Clifton). Don’t believe it was the fault of the shoes, but doing a long run in them right out of the box wasn’t a smart thing to do. I’ve had this injury before, and basically, I just need rest it for about a week, then monitor it from week to week. This probably means my running will be very limited for the next few weeks and the best I can hope for is to be able to finish the half marathon without any significant pain.

Otherwise, other aspects of my health and fitness are going very well. My weight and fat percentage is at an all time low, which I attribute to eliminating most grains and sugar such as bread, flour, rice and processed foods and adding more protein and healthy fats. I’ve never really been able to get under 140 lbs, but by just eliminating the wheat and rice, the weight just fell off. The funny thing is that I still eat pretty much all I want and feel satiated most of the day. I’ve also been trying to make an effort to hydrate better during the day.

I recently purchased a fitness tracker called the Misfit Shine. It primarily tracks your activity level and sleep. So far, I’m impressed with it’s accuracy and can now track how many steps I take during the day along with how long and well I slept the night before.

I’m still seeing a chiropractor for adjustment almost every week. The jury is still out on whether it’s effective for me, although I do feel better after each session and anticipate over the long term there will be some positive effects.  I did get some adjustments done today to address my MCL injury, so it will be interesting to see if there is any improvement this week.

Since I’ll be resting my knee this week, I’ll primarily be getting my aerobic training on my indoor bike trainer.  Not as good as running, but still get a relatively decent workout. Hopefully, by this time next week I’ll be able to begin running again.

Weekly Assessment

2014-silver-strand-assessment-plan-wk8

Training Plan

2014-silver-strand-training-plan-wk8

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Running, Training and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

