Weekly Running Log Update (13 June 2011 ~ 19 June 2011)

This was a relatively relaxing training week, didn’t really push the limits, but kept it hard enough to maintain a good foundation to build upon once marathon training begins in late July.  Not having an upcoming race for a couple months is nice since I can run based upon what feels comfortable, but need to make sure I don’t get too comfortable and begin losing fitness.  This upcoming week will also be subdued since I’ll be on a business trip and it isn’t as easy to train at the same level as when you’re at home – but I still try to get some running in and do a lot of walking.

As for a recap of this week, I did kettlebell and yoga for core fitness training on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday.  I ran on Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday for a total of 31 miles.  Sunday will be a rest day.

This upcoming week I plan to run on Tuesday, Thursday, and Sunday.  Since I’ll be away on travel, I’ll skip the kettlebell training, but still do some yoga on Monday, Wednesday and Friday.  I minor do some minor core strength training a few times during the week (push-ups, planks, crunches, squats).  On Tuesday I’ll do 6 x 800m intervals, a tempo of 10 miles on Thursday, and long run of about 15 miles on Sunday.  Saturday will be a rest day.

Training Results this Week:

Monday – Kettlebell (26 minutes), Yoga (20 minutes)

Tuesday – Intervals (6 x 800s with a 90 second rest between intervals, intervals between 2:56 to 3:17 – hilly track).

Wednesday – Kettlebell (26 minutes), Yoga (20 minutes)

Thursday – Tempo Run (10 miles, 1 mile warm-up, 8 miles sub 7 minutes, 1 mile cooldown)

Friday – Kettlebell (26 minutes), Yoga (20 minutes)

Saturday – Long Run, (15 miles, 7:06/mile pace)

Sunday – Rest Day

This entry was posted in Running, Training and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment