Weekly Running Log Update (13 June 2011 ~ 19 June 2011)

This was a relatively relaxing training week, didn’t really push the limits, but kept it hard enough to maintain a good foundation to build upon once marathon training begins in late July.  Not having an upcoming race for a couple months is nice since I can run based upon what feels comfortable, but need to make sure I don’t get too comfortable and begin losing fitness.  This upcoming week will also be subdued since I’ll be on a business trip and it isn’t as easy to train at the same level as when you’re at home – but I still try to get some running in and do a lot of walking.

As for a recap of this week, I did kettlebell and yoga for core fitness training on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday.  I ran on Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday for a total of 31 miles.  Sunday will be a rest day.

This upcoming week I plan to run on Tuesday, Thursday, and Sunday.  Since I’ll be away on travel, I’ll skip the kettlebell training, but still do some yoga on Monday, Wednesday and Friday.  I minor do some minor core strength training a few times during the week (push-ups, planks, crunches, squats).  On Tuesday I’ll do 6 x 800m intervals, a tempo of 10 miles on Thursday, and long run of about 15 miles on Sunday.  Saturday will be a rest day.

Training Results this Week:

Monday – Kettlebell (26 minutes), Yoga (20 minutes)

Tuesday – Intervals (6 x 800s with a 90 second rest between intervals, intervals between 2:56 to 3:17 – hilly track).

Wednesday – Kettlebell (26 minutes), Yoga (20 minutes)

Thursday – Tempo Run (10 miles, 1 mile warm-up, 8 miles sub 7 minutes, 1 mile cooldown)

Friday – Kettlebell (26 minutes), Yoga (20 minutes)

Saturday – Long Run, (15 miles, 7:06/mile pace)

Sunday – Rest Day

About runninginspired

I’m in my mid-40s and have been running for about 19 years. I have finished 24 marathons with a personal best time of 3:04. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I enjoy running since it keeps you honest and will give back what you put into it. Work hard, but smart, and good results will eventually follow. I like to experiment with training plans, gadgets, shoes, and nutrition to find what works for me. The primary purpose of this blog is to document my training and thoughts about running in my ongoing quest to improve my fitness and health.
This entry was posted in Running, Training and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

